Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RobinsNest

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 9, 2009
My Nest in St. Cloud
I hear that there are specific time frames to getting a good photo. What I have heard is right around sunrise and right around sunset. Is there any truth to this? I am fairly new to photography, although I do not have an SLR. I have purchased the Canon Powershot SX10 IS. I wanted something of an upgrade from the point and shoot, but not cumbersome of having alot of lenses. Although I'm sure the quality will go down some from not being a SLR, but I guess that is the trade off. Thanks for the response.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
To really say that you want golden light for all photography shows your complete lack of understanding.
Photography covers a wide range of subjects that may or may not benefit from great natural light. If you can mimic that natural light in a studio then every minute of the day is a good time for photography.

When is it the best time to shoot "photography"?
Every time once you understand how light affects your subjects and you adjust accordingly.

Your question should be ...
When is it best to shoot portraits outside?
When is it best to take pictures of buildings?
When should I take macro shots?
When should I ...

You get my point?

toxic

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2008
there is really no "good" light. it depends solely on how you want the photo to turn out - different lighting conditions will give different impressions of the same scene.

generally speaking, the worst time is around mid-day, since there's way too much dynamic range for any camera (film or otherwise) to handle...unless you specifically want that high-contrast look. i prefer within 4 hours of sunrise or sunset.

a350

macrumors regular
Jul 8, 2009
Good question. There are some famous photographers that will only shoot during the golden hour, and some not so famous.