Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sjasam

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 29, 2019
I’m looking to swap my current iMac (late 2014) with a brand new one. There’s been a lot of updates and improvements since I got mine, and I can’t wait to get my hands on a new one. But since the last refresh was in March 2019, it doesn’t seem like the right time to invest (yet), so I was hoping to wait for the next update refresh.

i work in the recording industry and run my own music studio, so I want a really high-end machine.

So in order to both calm my worries that it could be a while until we see one, and to hear get excited about it all, I wanted to ask all of you:

1. When do you think we’ll see a new update to the iMacs?
2. What do you think the next update will include?

KBSout

Wolf1701

macrumors regular
Sep 16, 2006

Juicy Box

macrumors 604
Sep 23, 2014
This question gets asked often over the last few years. Actually, in Jan of 2018 there were threads asking the same thing you are, but about the 2018 iMac (which never actually happened).

Back then, I said based off of the iMac Pro release (which I think was originally supposed to be the redesigned iMac), and some other factors, we wouldn't see a new iMac until late 2018 til 1st quarter 2019.

Of course there were plenty of people that disagreed and said that Apple wouldn't wait that long between releases. There was even some people saying that the new iMac was going to be out Spring 2018, then WWDC, then the end of the Summer, then Oct.....

The point is, no one knows, and your guess would probably be just as good as everyone else's.

1. No one knows for sure, but we all can make guesses. Mine would be 2021. I wouldn't hold out for a refreshed/redesigned iMac if you need one now.

2. The iMac is way overdue for a redesign. I have a feeling that the next iMac will be a redesign, very similar to the iMac Pro.

Sjasam

macrumors newbie