Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Tumeg101

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 30, 2007
Orange County, California
I am new to photography, and am really interested in buying a DSLR in the near future...
And I can't decide between these two sets:

Canon Rebel XT 8MP + EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 Lens - $518.88
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro Lens - $476.94
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Telephoto Lens - $346.94
= $1,342.76

Nikon D40x 10.2MP + 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens - $662.50
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D Macro Lens - $404.89
Nikon 50mm f/1.4D Telephoto Lens - $404.89
= $1,472.28

these are my only options, unless you have suggestions for the lens'
I will be doing some macro stuff, portraits, landscapes, and just some gen photography...
I am leaning towards the canon setup, because well... it's cheaper, and the lens seem to be better, the only dif in the cameras that I can really see is the 2.2MP difference, which doesn't matter to me, due to the fact I am not going to enlarge the photos.

I do have a few questions, what exactly is the difference between a 85mm telephoto and a 50mm telephoto lens?

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
The choice between Canon and Nikon mostly comes down to personal choice: both offer a great camera at a very reasonable price. I personally went with Canon, mostly because that's what my friends have!

A 50mm lens would not be considered a telephoto lens: on a full frame camera it's a normal lens. On the bodies you have above a 50mm lens will operate more like a short-telephoto lens due to the crop factor. On the Canon you get an effective field of view of 1.6 times the lens. So the 50 is actually giving you the same field of view as an 80mm lens on a 35mm film camera (or a full-frame digital one like the 5d).