Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

secretpact

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 24, 2007
I just bought a Canon Powershot G10, and I really like it a lot. But I am just a beginner photographer and I don't really know how to use all the manual functions. I was thinking of returning it and buying a Samsung NV24HD instead. The NV24HD can record HD video, which is a huge plus for me.

The NV24HD is much cheaper than the G10. I really want to keep my G10, but I don't know if I can justify the price difference. Are the G10's pictures THAT much higher quality than the NV24HDs?

Please let me know any opinions any of you have. Thank you.

secretpact

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 24, 2007
Thanks for the response. I probably should return it. Such a shame though since I like it so much. I already have an SD800 and an SD1100 (I buy camears like some people on this forum buy macbooks). I actually just sold me 800 to a friend. The SD1100's pictures don't feel good to me. They feel off for some reason. I want a camera that takes really good quality photos. Do you know any point-and-shoots that are exceptional at that?

maclover001

macrumors 6502a
Mar 25, 2008
Vancouver, Canada
Thanks for the response. I probably should return it. Such a shame though since I like it so much. I already have an SD800 and an SD1100 (I buy camears like some people on this forum buy macbooks). I actually just sold me 800 to a friend. The SD1100's pictures don't feel good to me. They feel off for some reason. I want a camera that takes really good quality photos. Do you know any point-and-shoots that are exceptional at that?

Try something in the Canon SX series. Those border between the consumer and prosumer market. I don't own one myself, but I hear they are pretty good.

If you want a non-Canon, try something in the Nikon P-series. I'll tell you right here that the L-series sucks.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem