Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Suspended
Original poster
Dec 29, 2007
I have a white 20" 2.16GHz Intel iMac that I'd like to better calibrate as I work with my pictures. My intention is to use Lightroom (and iPhoto) and mostly send out my products for printing (though I might get an Epson printer).

I am not a Pro, so this doesn't need to be perfect. I don't need the cheapest thing, but I also don't want something soooo complicated. Essentially, I think spending up to $200 is acceptable, as long as I'm not spending my life managing the device.

I'm looking at the Huey, Spyder (Pro or Elite) and EyeOne Display 2. The Huey seems very (overly?) aligned w/the Pantone system, and I've seen some negative reviews. I've also seemed some negative reviews on the Spyder Express, hence my looking at Pro or Elite.

If I want something that I can set up without much frustration, that gives good results (and of course, I don't NEED to spend $200), is there one reason to pick the EyeOne over one of the Spyders, or vice versa?

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
I know that the Eye-One Display 2 gives an option to measure luminance, which is nice if you don't always keep your display really bright or if you want to match two different monitors. If I recall correctly, the Spyder doesn't do that.

AxisOfBeagles

macrumors 6502
Apr 22, 2008
Top of the South
I use Spyder. It does two different monitors - but only if you get the Pro.

It works fine; easy to use, seems effective, I like the ability to save the different profiles. I can't compare it to others cuz it's the only one I've used.

iTiki

macrumors 6502
Feb 9, 2007
Maui, Hawaii
I used the Huey Pro because I was able to borrow it at no charge.:D I'm sure there are better systems, but it has worked very well for me. My on screen images are now VERY CLOSE to my prints.

vga4life

macrumors 6502
Jun 16, 2004