Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Riyaaaa123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 10, 2019
Hey there so im currently struggling to decide which IMac to purchase, I want a secondhand one for sure, but I’m juggling between what year and storage/specs/price etc.
I’m currently a university student i mainly use a lot of adobe and general browsing stuff.
I’ve been looking at 2013/2015 Imacs cause they seem the most suitable but I’m having trouble deciding what specs I should be looking at.

nihil0

macrumors 6502
May 19, 2016
What does it mean lot of Adobe... Adobe what? Photoshop, Lightroom, Illustrator, Premiere Pro? I would go for 2015 cause it has 5K display if you use a lot of Adobe.

Riyaaaa123

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 10, 2019
I should be specific, adobe photoshop, in design and illustrator.
Would the 2013 IMac be fine as I’m not too worried abt display
What does it mean lot of Adobe... Adobe what? Photoshop, Lightroom, Illustrator, Premiere Pro? I would go for 2015 cause it has 5K display if you use a lot of Adobe.[/QUO

tomscott1988

macrumors 6502a
Apr 14, 2009
UK
Whats your budget? I picked up a base 27" 2017 for £1200 with the trackpad with applecare it was still current in feb and had a list of £2150.

I bought the base because the the mid range was roughly 5-6% quicker and because the top tier throttles again it wasnt that much quicker. Obviously you get the 570 graphic card but its still ok.

Main reason I mention the 2017, there isnt much difference in the CPU compared to the 2015 but you get desktop class graphics card over a mobile version. Thunderbolt 3 also makes these machines much more usable, you can pretty much put any fast accessory externally as and when you need it.