Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

The General

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jul 7, 2006
I'm fairly new to SLR stuff. I have a point-and-shoot that I can use fairly well, but it's not enough for me. I think I am going to get a Canon EOS 30D (unless there's a better one for the same price :confused: ), but I don't know what kind of lens I should get. :confused:

For now I just need an all-around lens for taking pictures of scenery, etc, I don't need it to be wide-angle or telephoto or anything, but I would like some level of zoom (not too much, like 8x at most) and a good level of focus (so I can take some close-up pictures if I wanted to) but nothing too fancy.;)

Anyone have a good lens to recommend me? :D

Thanks,
The General

miloblithe

macrumors 68020
Nov 14, 2003
Washington, DC
I'd start reading here to get an idea of what's available.

http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/index.html

Keep in mind that with an SLR there's a trade off between lenses that do it all (or a lot) and lenses that do what they do well. Great macro lenses aren't going to be zoom lenses. 8x or more zoom lenses aren't going to be sharp at all focal lengths, etc. And of course, there's also a trade-off in convenience between having lenses that do a lot acceptably well and having multiple lenses that do specific things well.

cube

Suspended
May 10, 2004
Do you really need 1/8000 shutter or 5 fps? I would go for the 400D, as the 30D is not environmentally sealed like the D200.

The General

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jul 7, 2006
The 400D is called "Digital Rebel XTi" in USA.

Okay then it is, I just realized that I forgot to put the link in! :rolleyes:

So this is a good camera then? Because I can save a bunch of money as this one is way cheaper. :D

And this may be a dumb question, but how do I know which lenses will work with it and which one's wont? :confused:

cube

Suspended
May 10, 2004