Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sodium Chloride

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 11, 2017
I am planning to buy a MacBook for making and selling app for statistics. The app would have to create charts and tables. Do you think a 12" MacBook is adequate for this purpose? Or should I get a bigger 15.4" MacBook Pro instead? I would rather not use an external monitor since it would clutter my small room.

Also, do I need a Core i7 or would a Core m3 be adequate?

Regardless of my choice, this would be my first Mac although I have been using my iPad for like 8 months.

Last edited:

firewood

macrumors G3
Jul 29, 2003
Silicon Valley
Many developers have created apps of that complexity on 5 year old MacBook Air 11's with even slower processors. Choose between the two based on the size of display you need for everyday use.

Reactions: TheWatchfulOne

spacebro

Suspended
Oct 1, 2015
I'd get a 15" from 2015 or new depending on how much you want to spend. I've been using a 2015 MacBook pro to make apps at a company where other people have newer macs and MacBook airs. The 2015 compiles nearly as fast as new MacBooks, takes a couple minutes to packages something. The 13" is slower even new ones. The MacBook air though, took a solid 15 minutes to do the same thing. Definitely get a 15" pro if this amount of time will get in your way.

TheWatchfulOne

macrumors 6502a
Jun 19, 2009
My app, which is shown in my signature, was mostly developed on a 11" MacBook Air (sadly discontinued.) That's as small a screen as you could get in recent years. It's not the fastest machine, but it does have a Core i7, so it's not exactly slow either.