Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sovon Halder

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 3, 2016
India
I'm a designer / developer from India. I have a 2017 13" MacBook Pro Touchbar and a good Dongle (Juiced System Bizhub). In office I work on a 21.5" iMac but recently I'm having trouble working from home in the 13" laptop screen. Too much scrolling and constant need to forward neck.

I am looking forward to buying big 4K monitor, not sure about what size (24" 27" 32" or higher) should I get; having hard time deciding which one to go for. I would work on design tools (Photoshop, Illustrator) almost all the time and front end web development sometime. And I watch A LOT of movies and youtube, so media consumption is another big priority.

I've been reading reviews for the past couple of days. There is a plethora of posts all over the internet and I'm confused. Please suggest me a monitor for the following use-case and scenario. For the time being I'm looking at LG 27UD88-W because it has a USB-C PD of 60W; almost same as my MBP charger.

I'm sure there are so many other factors like IPS bleeding, pixel issues, general consumer complaints etc. behind every product. I'm far from making any decision. Please help out if you have any suggestion.

wbynum

macrumors newbie
Jun 29, 2012
Backend software developer here. IMO, 24" or 27" are the sweet spots. While never used one I'd think 32" would be to big for my taste. To much moving my head around instead of just eyes. Any of those you will probably want to run 2x scaled for 1440p. 24" might be to small for you at 1440p. All personal preference. I personally like smaller icons, text, etc.

For me that LG you listed is pricey. I don't see USB-C on a monitor being that useful. Would eliminate one less power brick I guess. Lot of 27" 4k monitors on Slickdeals in the $300 - $400 price range.