Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

OSXphoto

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 23, 2013
Hi folks,
Debating 32 vs 64GB RAM for new MacBook Pro. I know I need more than 16GB. I’m unsure I’ll need more than 32, but I might.
So I’m interested in which RAM hungry apps you use, so I can decide for myself if 64GB is worth it for me.

Thanks!

wilberforce

macrumors 68030
Aug 15, 2020
SF Bay Area
Photoshop and Lightroom. But even these seldom really need 64GB. I have had up to 20GB swap on a 16GB 14" MBP, when running them concurrently, but usually much less.

Reactions: OSXphoto

OSXphoto

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 23, 2013
Thank you.

I’m a pro photographer. I use those two apps simultaneously as well. My 16GB M1 air and 16GB 2013 MBP choke a bit when I have other apps running such as Mail, safari and MS office.

I also use iMovie.

I suppose 32gb will be plenty for daily use. And I’d rather not spend more than strictly necessary. But I also don’t want to be sorry in 4-6 years. My current 2013 MBP is 9 years old so I tend to keep my gear for a long time.

Any more apps on this list?

Last edited:

wilberforce

macrumors 68030
Aug 15, 2020
SF Bay Area
Check out videos by ArtisRight, if you have not already done so. He has many thoughtful comparisons, using LR and PS. However, he tends to compare rather extreme use cases, so bear in mind the context in which he is comparing. It depends on how much you want to spend for a few minutes saved when exporting 1000 photos, for example. It's not as if less RAM won't run, it just runs a little slower for intense workloads

OSXphoto

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 23, 2013
Yes I’ve watched his videos. However he is testing current MacBooks with current software, which is of course all that can be tested.