Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sjohnson4382

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 23, 2008
I am new to mac and trying to get an opinion on which photo editing software to buy for my macbook. I always used microsoft digital image editor for windows and am looking for something with some more options than that program. It was good for the most part, however it was very limited in a lot of things I could do.. With that being said I do not plan on spending the $800 or so bucks for Photoshop CS4 (although I would love it). I do want a program that has a large number of options to turn my photos into one of a kind photos. I will be using the program a good bit and take many pictures each week along with doing some weddings and stuff on the side, so yall help me out with a program for me. Also I do a lot of nature shooting and odd pics like most amateur photographers do.

Any ideas on what program i should buy?

Kebabselector

macrumors 68030
May 25, 2007
Birmingham, UK
Try iPhoto it came with your mac and is free.

For something better try Photoshop Elements. Probably available for less than $100. The gimp is a free photoshop type application. No doubt there's a few more, but I can think at the moment.

You can even download Adobe Lightroom or Aperture for 30 days to try. These are workflow tools, with limited editing capabilities. That said, most of my editing is done on Lightroom.

Osprey

macrumors 6502
Jun 18, 2007
In a Galaxy Far, Far Away