Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MarkC426

macrumors 68040
Original poster
May 14, 2008
UK
I am trying to decide which camera to buy, either the Nikon D60 or the Canon EOS 400D.
Because I am new to HDR photography, some of the technical stuff baffles me a bit.
For example
400D - has Auto Exposure Bracketing (+/- 2EV 0.5 or 0.3 increments)
Exposure Compensation (+/- 2EV 0.5 or 0.3 increments)
D60 - has no AEB but Exposure Compensation (+/- 5EV 0.3 increments)
1.Exactly how many exposure levels do these produce?
(400D - 8/12; D60 - 30?)
2.Does AEB take multiple exposures automatically (as the name would suggest) and how many?
3.If there is no AEB, do you have to manually alter exposure and retake photo?

HELP

TimJim

macrumors 6502a
May 15, 2007
1.Exactly how many exposure levels do these produce?
(400D - 8/12; D60 - 30?)
2.Does AEB take multiple exposures automatically (as the name would suggest) and how many?
3.If there is no AEB, do you have to manually alter exposure and retake photo?

1. Do the math.

2. You need to hold it in one place (tripod is best) and shoot in continuos mode and the 3 separate pictures are + , 0 , - [The + and - are set in EV steps by you]

3. Yeah, you just change exposure compensation after each shot, you need a tripod of stationary object.

MarkC426

macrumors 68040
Original poster
May 14, 2008
UK
Thanks for the comments.
So I guess the D60 would give me a greater range of exposures but I really need a tripod and more setup time, and the 400D would let me take the three levels as long as the camera is steady.

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA
Thanks for the comments.
So I guess the D60 would give me a greater range of exposures but I really need a tripod and more setup time, and the 400D would let me take the three levels as long as the camera is steady.