Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Candle1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 23, 2008
I've recently bought a Nikon D80 with an 18 - 135 f/3.5 lens and am now looking to purchase another lens. Being a complete novice I'm unsure of what to get next. I'm on a budget and don't want to spend more than about £200 Would the 18 - 55 f/3.5 give me anything that my current lens doesn't? If not, any suggestions for an all rounder lens?

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA
What type of shooting do you mainly do? You have a pretty good all around lens, the Nikkor 18-200mm is a bit better of an all around lens but it would be very redundant to get it after your 18-135mm.

Candle1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 23, 2008
Thanks, as I'm a complete novice I was looking for something that would allow me to experiment with as many different types of shooting. Of late I've been shooting a lot of christmas lights etc but don't seem to be getting it right? (this may of course be down to user error and not the lens!)

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA
Do you have a flickr account or something similar to that? I should be able to help you a bit with that and seeing pictures that you've taken will show what you like to take pictures of.

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
Your next lens should be something fast, at least f/2.8. Right now you can't experiment with low-light photography (e.g. the Christmas lights you want to shoot) and shallow depth of field. You might consider the 50mm f/1.8; it ought to open up some new possibilities for you much more so than another slow zoom lens.

Candle1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 23, 2008
No, flick account as yet unfortunatley. Will take you up on that offer once I have one!