Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

IscariotJ

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 13, 2004
UK
I'm just getting into cameras a bit more "seriously", so I've been looking for something better than my point and click. I'd avoided looking at the SLR's, as I think they would be wasted on me, not to mention the cost. So I'd sorta settled on the upgraded model of the - don't laugh - Fuji S9500 ( S9100 in the US? ) when they come available. I'd read a review on dpreview and it seemed to do quite well. However, several people who know more about cameras have rubbished it, saying that it's nothing more than an SLR wannabe, and that I should spend the extra and get a real SLR.

I could probably stretch to one of the new Canon 400D's with a lens kit ( http://www.bestcameras.co.uk/shop/a...e_Canon_Eos_400d___18_55_Canon_lens_1271.html ), but apparently that lens is underpowered, and not worth having, so I'm sorta stuck.

I want something better than a point and click, but I can't afford to spend £500 buying the Canon and nearly £200 for a new lens. Has anyone had experience of the S9500 and/or the Canon with the lens?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
There are other options other than the Fuji, although I'm sure it's a fine choice. Panasonic, Olympus, and even Samsung nicer "large" point-and-shoot cameras with decent lenses. The Canon G6 is quite good as well (although the G7 was announced), as is the S3 IS.

IscariotJ

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 13, 2004
UK
Fuji was only something that I'd looked at, as I was more used to their range. I'm open to options, though. I've just had a quick look, both of the Canon's look quite.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
The kit lens is not terrible, it's just that most of Canon's other lenses are that much better!