Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

natallica

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 7, 2005
Fairfax, VA
Hello everyone -

I have been looking for a wide-angle zoom for my D200 and had decided to give the Sigma 10-20mm a go. Unfortunately, no one in the D.C. area seems to have one in stock and Amazon says it's shipping in 2-4 months!

I've never used a non-Nikkor lens before, but I don't see myself using the lens enough to justify the price of the Nikon 12-24. I do use a lot of my old MF focus lenses with my D200, but the old 24mm I have just isn't very wide on the DX body.

So, while I'm in a holding-pattern, I thought I would ask if I should special order the Sigma from one of my local stores or should I try a Tamron or Tokina lens? I was surprised to see that the Sigma is made in Japan. Where are Tamron and Tokina lenses made these days?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

-- N

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan
I second the suggestion to have a look at Tokina's f4/12-24 zoom. It has received excellent reviews, some place it before original manufacturer lenses (read: Canon and Nikon).

natallica

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 7, 2005
Fairfax, VA

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan
I've seen the Ken Rockwell review, but decided not to run out and buy a lens based on this single review. :)

Can anyone speak to the issue of CA on the Tokina? I've been reading through lots of reviews that claim that the Tokina 12-24 has issues with CA while the Sigma 10-20 does not?!?

-- N
Have a look at Photozone's review. This bit is taken from their review of Canon's 10-22 ultra-wide angle zoom:
photozone said: