Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Buadhai

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 15, 2018
Korat, Thailand
This is the sort of electrical outlets we have in Thailand.

IMG_6400.jpeg

When I got my M1 MBA earlier this year, this is the plug that Apple included.

IMG_6399.jpeg

I opened my new 15” M1 MBA this afternoon and was PO'd to find this plug.

IMG_6398.jpeg

This is OK if you’re using a power strip where gravity holds the plug in place, but if you use a wall socket gravity causes the plug to eventually fall out.

I have half a drawer of the wrong king of plug that I’ve had to replace with the right kind of plug over the past couple of decades.

Why Apple, Why?

Buadhai

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 15, 2018
Korat, Thailand
The supplied plug is designed to be used in a recessed European-style outlet. We do not have such outlets in Thailand. My wall outlets are not crappy. When they wear I replace them. I have two spares on hand now. Chargers and the like do not fall out of wall sockets unless they are the wrong type as supplied by Apple and some other manufacturers. Blaming me and my wall sockets for Apple’s geographic ignorance is simply unfair.

AndyMacAndMic

macrumors 65816
May 25, 2017
Western Europe
The supplied plug is designed to be used in a recessed European-style outlet. We do not have such outlets in Thailand. My wall outlets are not crappy. When they wear I replace them. I have two spares on hand now. Chargers and the like do not fall out of wall sockets unless they are the wrong type as supplied by Apple and some other manufacturers. Blaming me and my wall sockets for Apple’s geographic ignorance is simply unfair.