Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Buschmaster

macrumors 65816
Feb 12, 2006
Minnesota
It really isn't, film comes up now and then and no one thinks twice about it.

It's probably named digital photography because digital photography can often entail a Mac side.

.JahJahwarrior.

macrumors 6502
Jan 1, 2007
99% of the pictures I've posted here were film. However, I have digital prints of them....I just get the "pictures on cd" because I have a nice photo printer (sony dye-sub). You cannot really put film on the internet. And if you put up a picture, it's digital. Regardless of whether or not it was taken on film, it's been converted to digital information. :)

filmamigo

macrumors member
Sep 17, 2003
Toronto
One of the reasons I like this forum is because nobody gets weird when real film comes up.

I shoot some digital and some medium format film. I recently started shooting a lot of 35mm. I enjoyed 35mm so much that I even bought a new-ish Nikon SLR. When I shoot film, I still use my Mac for all my "darkroom" work.

The world is big enough for analog and digital to live side by side - especially when scanning film is so easy.

atari1356

macrumors 68000
Feb 27, 2004
I've been tempted to buy a film SLR, just to use with my 17-40mm lens at it's proper focal length (it ends up being around 27-64mm on my Digital Rebel XT).

But then I think about all the money I'd end up spending on film - and having that film processed - and come to my senses. :p

I'm sure film is wonderful and all... but I'd rather be saving my pennies for a Canon 5D or whatever model replaces it.