Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

smirk

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 18, 2002
Orange County, CA
Hi, I have a late-2013 MacBook Pro 15" that randomly drops its wifi connection. When this happens, the wifi icon in the menu bar shows that it is connected, but I'm unable to reach any websites and I'm unable to reach any other computers inside my network. When this happens, the only way to get things going again is to turn wifi off and back on again. The MacBook is in the same room as the router, and connects over 802.11N, 2.4 GHz.

Sometimes it works all day, sometimes (like today), the connection drops out 10 times during the day. I'm not aware of any other devices (iPad, iPhone, or a PC laptop) having this problem. I also don't see any obvious log entries in the router (OpenWRT) that would indicate a problem, but I'm no expert at reading those things.

Following a post here, I've tried creating a new network location and setting its MTU to 1453, but it didn't seem to help. Updating from El Cap to Sierra didn't help, either.

Connecting the laptop to ethernet results in a stable connection, but I'd rather use Wifi.

Any ideas of what to do to resolve this? Is this a known issue with the MBP? Could it be an incompatibility between the MacBook and the router?

Thanks!

jerryk

macrumors 604
Nov 3, 2011
SF Bay Area
Does it work OK in other locations?

If not, it might be that the antenna connection is loose, or the wifi module is loose or failing.

smirk

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 18, 2002
Orange County, CA
It seems to work at other wifi locations, although I've never used it for an extended period of time outside the house. I guess I could go to Starbucks and hang out for a few hours. I've used it an the office a handful of times for several hours each time and it never dropped.

jerryk

macrumors 604
Nov 3, 2011
SF Bay Area