Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nickk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 24, 2014
I got two iPhone cables which stopped charging my iPhones.

The first is still on warranty. It’s being repaired by an Apple authorized repair shop.

The second’s warranty period got expired.

Should I buy new cables?

I’ve got two factors for you to consider:

Does a repaired cord charge the iPhone worse than a new one just purchased from the shop? Even if it’s fixed by an Apple authorized repair shop?

There is enough information on how to fix a cable. But I have no experience with any repairs. Will I be able to fix a cable properly if I follow the instructions?

Last edited:

bransoj

macrumors 68000
Jul 31, 2013
You can pick up "Made for iPhone" cables for not a lot such as Amazon Basics ones and they work just fine. Not sure why you would mess about getting cables "fixed" other than having it swapped by Apple if its an option.

Reactions: Nickk

Nickk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 24, 2014
You can pick up "Made for iPhone" cables for not a lot such as Amazon Basics ones and they work just fine. Not sure why you would mess about getting cables "fixed" other than having it swapped by Apple if its an option.

I can't swap any of my cables cause the shops they have been purchased at don't provide this option.

The best option I'm left with is to get it repaired at an Apple authorized repair shop.
And this option's possible only for one of the two cables, the one which is still on warranty.

As for the second cable, which has run out of the warranty period, there's no even such option.
[doublepost=1548943996][/doublepost]
I’ve never heard of someone taking the time or spending the money to pay someone else to repair an iPhone charging cable.

Out of curiosity, how much are you paying them?

The cheapest genuine Apple cable I can get costs US$ 15.