Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

1kmerenda

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 23, 2015
A few years ago, HP released the Elite X3 - A Windows 10 smartphone that could be docked and used as your laptop. I'm an IT manager, and I love the vision behind this: you have one device, and it does everything you need. Its your phone while you're out and about, but drop it in a dock and its now your PC.

The problem with the Elite was apps. It could only run MS store apps, and in 2016 (and even now) that was a pretty slim offering.

Now that Apple is going to their own chips on Macs, and they're making iOS/iPadOS apps compatible with apple silicon Macs by default, do you see them trying to do "1 device" right? iPad is almost there already, and iPhone isn't far behind. On the flip side, achieving "1 device" would mean that Apple is selling less hardware, and services revenue becomes more important than ever.

I for one, would love it if I could dock my iPhone and get the Mac desktop experience, then revert back to iOS when undocked.

Thoughts?

Reactions: dpace32

tranceking26

macrumors 65816
Apr 16, 2013
Interesting thoughts, it might be cool to have a 1 device does all, but who knows if Apple would be up for it.

TGM85

macrumors 6502
Aug 29, 2005
Bad for sales / revenue / bottom line.

Why sell people just one device when you can sell them a phone, a tablet and a laptop/desktop computer.

Falhófnir

macrumors 603
Aug 19, 2017