Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jhamerphoto

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 26, 2007
Anyone got any experience with this?

The 32" of the MC-30 seems pretty limiting, but I was wondering if a 3rd party wireless release is worth $160. BTW the MC-30 around here is $90 :mad:

Padaung

macrumors 6502
Jan 22, 2007
UK
Hi, I've no experience with the unit you posted, but I have just got one of these for myself - it has only just been launched in the UK, no idea if they are available elsewhere yet I'm afraid:

http://www.intro2020.co.uk/pages/seculine3.htm

Very happy with it too. Build quality was a bit suss but a dab of super glue to keep it together properly and all is fine now.

I've not yet had the opportunity to test the full 100m range!

jhamerphoto

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 26, 2007
Pocketwizards do this, although I think it'll cost ~200 for the pair.

Oh I'm quite aware of pocketwizards, but I can't afford that much right now as a student. I'm holding off on those until I get my Alien Bees :)

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
IR remotes don't always fire reliably, which is why I bought an MC-30 to use with my D700. I understand the desire for more range, though. It was handy, on rare occasions, to be able to fire my D70 from several feet away.

Back when I was shooting film, I had this nifty device called either a "Gopher" or a "Hedgehog". It screwed onto the shutter with the typical needle plunger doo-dad, but also had about 20 feet of thin rubber tubing and a bulb at the other end - you'd squeeze the bulb, and the blast of air through the tubing would drive the plunger. It worked really well, and cost something like 5 or 10 bucks. :D

jhamerphoto

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 26, 2007