Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ish4y

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 28, 2022
I'm a fun-sized university student: a skinny and short twink. As the main computer in my dorm, I use the 13-inch MacBook Air M1, which does everything I need. I seriously love the horsepower this device offers for my writing and content creation needs, but bringing it to university in a ruggedized Thule sleeve has been killing my back. It takes the largest amount of weight in my backpack and it's becoming cumbersome to lug around.

I kept my Mac at home and brought my 2021 10.2-inch iPad with Smart Keyboard to university. The problem: I keep buying and selling this particular iPad model (and now I'm considering to sell it, again). Even with it's ultra-portability, there's no way the iPad with it's software limitations and touch interface can replace a full-fledged computer for me. I don't know how students are using this device, but it doesn't fit my multitasking needs. There are times I have to skim through twenty PDF sources with multiple instances of Safari running next to each other and my lectures are too fast-paced to take handwritten notes. Besides that, I'm an amateur screenwriter and the iPad versions of Scrivener and Final Draft are not as feature-packed as their Mac counterparts.