Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wingsley

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 20, 2014
I have been using Macintosh computers since 1986. I have also been using iOS on an iPad Mini for a few years.

During this COVID-19 lockdown (still partially in effect where I live) I have been using my iMac to do things from home. When I heard that WWDC was going to be a virtual (telecommuting) event for free, I was very intrigued. For years, I've wanted to explore what it is like to be a modern software developer. In the 1980s, I started out as a computer science major and did some coding in BASIC and PASCAL on a DEC VAX mainframe. Ironically, when I changed my major, I discovered a very different kind of computing: the early Macintosh. This discovery was going to have an effect on me and my work for many years to come.

Now, I want to learn about programming on iOS and/or MacOS. I want to become a developer and explore this new cyber-WWDC. I have no idea what to do or what it costs. Where do I learn? How do I learn? What does it cost to become a developer?

chrono1081

macrumors G3
Jan 26, 2008
Isla Nublar
Start with learning Swift. You can read the Hacking With Swift book free online (or he also has videos on Youtube if you prefer learning that way.)

Apple also has a free ebook in the iBooks store on how to do the most common stuff in iOS development which is really popular.

Wingsley

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 20, 2014
Start with learning Swift. You can read the Hacking With Swift book free online (or he also has videos on Youtube if you prefer learning that way.)

Apple also has a free ebook in the iBooks store on how to do the most common stuff in iOS development which is really popular.

Is Swift for developing for iOS, or MacOS, or both?

cambookpro

macrumors 604
Feb 3, 2010
United Kingdom