Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Optimus Rhyme

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 28, 2006
London, UK
I'm sure many people hate these posts, but I figured it was worth a shot in asking.

I currently have a Canon Powershot S5 IS, and while I love the camera I've decided to join the world of DSLR photography, but I just haven't quite figured out which camera to start me off with.

I basically have two choices, and since I'm new to DSLRs I have an idea of which one of the two you guys will suggest.

The Canon Digital Rebel XSI which comes out in April or the Canon EOS-40D.

I'll give you a little idea on why I'm choosing between the two and then you can make your choice on which one would suit me best.

I love to photograph anything and everything. I wouldn't say I'm someone who takes pictures of something in particular but I do love sunset photography. I plan to do lots of HDR photos too, so that's also a factor. I'm interested in macro shots too, but haven't yet played around with that too much yet.

I'm also thinking of this as more of a long term purchase. I find myself buying a new camera almost every year because the camera is just slightly missing out on something I want etc. In this case would that mean that if I chose an XSI over the 40D that I would be missing anything from the 40D?

I'm a huge photography fan and want to continue taking more and more photographs now and figure it's time to invest in some good equipment rather than a $300 point and shoot. I don't mind the cost difference between the two either, so that's not an issue.

I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks guys.

M@lew

macrumors 68000
Nov 18, 2006
Melbourne, Australia