Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yoak

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 4, 2004
Oslo, Norway
I´m a film/TV cameraman by trade, but lately I have taken more and more stills as well.
Usually this involves documenting interviews I´ve done and/or production stills that would later be used for publicity. Newspapers, magazines etc.
I´ve used my trusted 20D for 4 years, but I´m thinking of upgrading as the cameras have gotten ok HD capabillities as well.
I would like a FF camera, but I´m not sure it´s "necessary". I don´t won´t a kit that is too heavy as I have to bring it in addition to my HD camera and video gear.
And I don´t want to spend too much as I rather spend money on a new flash recorder for my HD camera and other video gear.
Does anyone have a suggestion of what camera would suit my needs best?
Some pros and cons of each that I haven´t thought of?

PS I realize the 7D has only been tested in Beta versions so far and we really can´t tell the IQ yet, but I presume it will be pretty good.
(I´m invested in Canon + I have access to great glass, not just my own, so a Nikon is out of the question)

JFreak

macrumors 68040
Jul 11, 2003
Tampere, Finland
I'm not sure it is necessary to upgrade at all! If you have extra money, buy a nice L lens that you can be happy with for "decades"...

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Nov 23, 2007
Hmm, what lenses do you have? And what kind of photographs are you planning to use it for?

localghost

macrumors regular
Nov 17, 2002
If you are happy with the AF-performance of the 20d, and only use in addition to the video gear, 5d II (UWA, small DOF, high ISO, overall IQ). If you plan to use it for breaking-news stills a lot, I’d say 7d (tons of useful features, probably pro-grade AF, pixel density saves weight with long lenses).