Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macman4789

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 12, 2007
Hi,

I am not an expert in this field, however wondered if anyone could give me some insight into this. Apple advertises that the current Mac mini can edit up to 8K pro res. Presumably, this is based on the reliance on the hardware encoders/decoders in the M2 chips.

I wondered has anyone had any experience with this? Is it a fluid experience? The only reviews I can find of 8K editing is at h.265 with an M2 Pro and that seemed quite fluid.

What the involve working at ‘better performance’ or creating proxies?

Thanks

R S K

macrumors regular
Oct 18, 2022
Hannover, Germany
Erm… we’re talking up to TWENTY-TWO streams of 8K, yes. So… are you asking about ONE stream? 😄

Yeah. It’s fluid.

macman4789

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 12, 2007
Erm… we’re talking up to TWENTY-TWO streams of 8K, yes. So… are you asking about ONE stream? 😄

Yeah. It’s fluid.
Sorry it was probably a silly question and why I’m not very experienced with this. The reason I asked was I’ve seen many videos where high end Mac’s have struggled with 8K from say the Canon R5. Is that just because of the codec used and that Pro Res 8K is optimised for Apple silicon? I apologise if that’s an obvious question.

If so, how do you get around this so that you can edit Canon 8K? What options do you have?

Thanks

T'hain Esh Kelch

macrumors 603
Aug 5, 2001
Denmark
It is likely the Canon codec. The M series chips are optimized to a few specific formats, but does accellerate a lot more than that to some extents, but codecs will require to take advantage of the pipelines in the chips. You could convert your movies to ProRes, or another accellerated format.

R S K

macrumors regular
Oct 18, 2022
Hannover, Germany
Is that just because of the codec used and that Pro Res 8K is optimised for Apple silicon?