Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aprofetto

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 19, 2008
Hamilton, Ontario
Hey guys, as stated in the title I am the definition of a beginner when it comes to photography.

I am interested in purchasing a digital SLR and this summer my fiance and I are going to take a few photography classes run by the nearest collage.

My problem is that the classes require you to have a camera, and I'm not quite sure what would be best for me.

Obviously I don't need anything crazy, like I said I am a beginner, but at the same time, I don't want to buy something that in a year or so is no longer capable.

I've looked a little, and I will definitely look some more, but I wanted to hear your guys thoughts. I've been reading through these forums and I think alot of you guys are really knowledgeable and nice, so I hope you guys can help me.

The ones I've looked at are briefly:

Sony DSLRA200K

and a few canon ones.

Any particular ones you guys would suggest? Please keep in mind I don't want to spend too much, thinking anywhere from $400-$550 CAD.

Thanks!

SayCheese

macrumors 68000
Jun 14, 2007
Oxfordshire, England
Hi,

You are doing the right thing by taking a college course to learn photography. As for the camera you need I would suggest something that allows full manual mode is a must. I don't see how people can learn on a camera that won't allow them to adjust the relevant settings. Other than that the Canon/Nikon range are good as you can always expand them at a later date if you want to.

At least as the camera is digital you won't do what I did when I started studying photography and waste loads of film.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Does the class have any specific requirements on the camera? Do they provide any more detail than "must have camera?"