Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

D34th

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 14, 2006
Connecticut
Hello. Is anyone here a "non-professional" using Aperture? Someone where photography is just a hobby? I've been getting more and more into photography for the past few years and have been using iPhoto quite a lot. This morning I took some time to really research Aperture and I am thinking about making the move sometime in the near future. Photography is strictly a hobby for now. I can, however, see it becoming something a little more than a hobby in the future. Would it be wise to buy Aperture (I'm a student so the student discount would be used)? I want photography to be a serious hobby and I am very impressed with Aperture and how easy it seems to be for a complicated/powerful program. I don't think I would be overwhelmed by it...

ChrisBrightwell

macrumors 68020
Apr 5, 2004
Huntsville, AL
I'm a amateur, and I bought Aperture -- But I've really not been able to use it yet, mostly due to lack of free time for the last several days.

I'll try to check in after I use it to sort through 400+ RAW photos I have to sort/correct/print and let you know how I feel about it.

vgoklani

macrumors regular
Jul 2, 2004
I'm an amateur - and I love Aperture...it is slow on my Macbook Pro (even w/ 2Gs of ram), so keep that in mind when making your decision.

x86isslow

macrumors 6502a
Aug 10, 2003
USA
You might be interested in the Adobe Lightroom Beta program. Its free, and app runs pretty smoothly- much much lower system requirements than Apple's app.

celebrian23

macrumors 65816
Mar 12, 2006
Under the sun
When I get my mbp tomorrow i'm going to try out the lightroom beta. I can't afford aperture, but I think iphoto is pretty lame for editing. My friend uses the lightroom beta all the time and is always raving about it :)

FrankieTDouglas

macrumors 68000
Mar 10, 2005