Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

zeesa

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 11, 2008
Hello all!

Can someone please explain the types of editing tools that are included with Aperture and your experience with them? I am an amateur photographer (using a Nikon D40) and want to take it to the next level as far as editing but Photoshop kinda scares me... Thoughts? Should I just get over it and go for Photoshop? It's hard to understand the difference.

Thanks in advance!

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Hello all!

Can someone please explain the types of editing tools that are included with Aperture and your experience with them? I am an amateur photographer (using a Nikon D40) and want to take it to the next level as far as editing but Photoshop kinda scares me... Thoughts? Should I just get over it and go for Photoshop? It's hard to understand the difference.

Thanks in advance!

Aperture is mainly a "bigger iPhoto". It allows color adjustments and cropping and sharpening like iPhoto does but with more control. I allows you to store more meta-data (keywords, copyrights,...) than iPhoto. It allows for very simple edits, there is a clone-tool like brush and red eye tool.

But Aperture totally lacks the concept of selections, masks and layers which are basic to image editing. If you don't like PS CS3 then look into "Adobe Photoshop Elements". It has just about everyhing photographer needs. The combination of iPhoto and Elements works well.

Look on the Apple web site for an Aperture video tutorial. Actually it is a collection of short videos that together run about 1/2 hour. Worth watching. Then download Aperture for free 30 trial.

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan