Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

seenew

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Dec 1, 2005
Brooklyn
I'm about to buy a Canon EOS 350D on ebay for $1099.99 that comes with

-Canon Efs 18-55mm
-Tamron 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 Aspherical Autofocus Wide Angle
-Tamron 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 LD MACRO
-(offbrand) Pro 0.42X Wide-Angle lens
-3 UV Filters
-3 Lens Pouches
-3 Lens Hoods
-Auto Digital Flash
-2 Gigabyte Compact Flash Card
-USB Memory Card Reader
-shock-proof hard case
-deluxe camera bag
-55" tripod
-table tripod
-cleaning kit

I'm new to DSLRs and know nothing about Tamron, is it worth it? I found another kit for the same price, but only two Cannon lenses instead of a Cannon and 2 Tamrons...

Poeben

macrumors 6502
Jul 29, 2004
I won't comment on the quality of the lenses, but that price seems quite high. The two Tamron lenses you list sell as a kit for $200 on B&H. The canon 18-55 is the kit lens that comes with the camera. My advice, run away from this "deal."

ksz

macrumors 68000
Oct 28, 2003
USA
This is a good question, one that I've often wondered myself -- among the three principal third-party lens makers (Sigma, Tokina, Tamron), which is considered the best?

Probably MR members Jared Kipe and Chip NoVaMac can provide a good answer, but in my experience the answer depends entirely upon the particular lens. (I wouldn't ask Clix Pix because she shops only in the super ultra premium category. ;) )

Many of the new models introduced by all three companies have been well received and highly rated. Since I am not familiar with the 2 Tamrons you listed, I can only refer you to other sites:

1. Fred Miranda has end-user reviews of both the 28-80 f/3.5-5.6 and the 75-300 f/4.0-5.6.

2. Photozone has a large set of lens reviews written in a way that everyone can understand. The author of this website also uses a Canon 350D.

3. In general, dpreview's forums are chock full of such information.

bartelby