Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

G5Unit

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 3, 2005
I'm calling the cops
I have decided that I want to begin photography as a hobby. I have been using photoshop for 4 years now and I want to actually be the one who takes pictures of what I am manipulating.

The most I can spend for a camera=lens is $750.

I already have a (cheap) tripod.

I wish to turn this into a profitable hobby since I am in need of a job.

I'm almost 16.

Any recommendations on lenses and cameras? It would mostly be portrait shots and the occasional landscape.

M@lew

macrumors 68000
Nov 18, 2006
Melbourne, Australia
I wish to turn this into a profitable hobby since I am in need of a job.

I'm almost 16.

I'm afraid that's not going to happen any time soon for a couple of reasons.

1) You're just starting. Unless you're super duper naturally talented and get discovered really fast by some guy willing to spread your name around everywhere, you're going to need time.

2) You're just 16. Wait a few years before you can make decent money from it.

It's possible to make small cash on photographer as a hobby, just not a profitable one considering how much gear costs. :)

ScubaDuc

macrumors 6502
Aug 7, 2003
Europe
Mmmmm...

You ask a hard question for which there is no obvious answer. I would hesitate choosing a body based solely on the "feel". Look at the lenses you'd like and how much they cost. Are they available for the body you have chosen?

If you get a D40 ( and I am all for Nikons) you will not have the opportunity to use older AI lenses that can be picked up cheap in second hand shops. Stuff like the 55 mm MicroNikkor or the 28 mm PC. Those lenses are awesome...

Also, Nikon USA has stated clearly that they expect full size CCD to migrate to the lower end of the reflex segment, meaning that any DX lens you buy now is not going to work with a full sensor in the future...