Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

phas3

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 5, 2008
looking for a good cheap tripod that will last me long, i've got a nikon d80

kidkaprie

macrumors member
Mar 17, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
most people will tell you that good, cheap & tripod do not belong in the same sentance. especially if you want one that will last.

you will probally be look to spend at least $50-$75 on anything remotly decent. but im not too sure, since im no expert on tripods. just an fyi...

phas3

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 5, 2008
also i would like oine that i can haul around on my motorcycle, something i can strap on and not get in the way

Edge100

macrumors 68000
May 14, 2002
Where am I???
Agreed. I have a Manfrotto 728B, and while it's not a bad tripod, my next one will have two other key features: carbon fiber legs (for light weight) and a ball head (for ease of positioning).

Don't skimp on a tripod. A crappy one is just about useless.

RobLS

macrumors member
Aug 30, 2008
I was at a party a few weeks back and my cousin and I brought our cameras. He has a D40 and myself a D300. I didn't have a tripod with me though but he had his cheapo one that worked for his lil D40. Well i tried to use it, and every time I would press the shutter release it would vibrate the camera up and down.

I think I need to invest in a nice tripod for myself and for the size of the camera. I would like something that could hold it still even at extreme angles. I do plan on getting a remote for the shutter release. But until then I need something solid but not in the thousands of dollars range.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
looking for a good cheap tripod that will last me long, i've got a nikon d80

Tripods have the legs and also three possible characteristics

1. low price
  2. sturdy and ridgid
  3. light weight