Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Joeytpg

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 1, 2004
Vienna, Austria
I'm a total noob when it comes to dslr, but I reseached quite a bit and for what I needed the Nikon D40 was the best.

I love taking pics (reunions, trips gatherings with friends etc...) I'm the one wa the p&s in the pocket all the type, so I was thinking about getting a new p&s, but a good one costs as much as 350 dollars, so with the D40 being 400 something, it was a no brainer to me. I got it.

I was on vacation in Valencia with my girl and a friend, and I decided to test the D40 for the first time. Like I said I'm a noob but I researched a little bit, and learned somethings on composition, aperture, ISO, etc.....so this is the result.

let me know how can I improve and stuff. I used the P setting in all the pics, and played with the ISO, and some other stuff.

web.jpg

web.jpg

web.jpg

web.jpg

web.jpg

web.jpg

web.jpg

web.jpg

How do you post thumbs????:confused:

bartelby

macrumors Core
Jun 16, 2004
How do you post thumbs????:confused:

The tags are [img] [/img] instead of [img] [/img] but that doesn't really create a thumbnail. It just constrains the image to 300 pixels wide.

EDIT: Some nice images there.

ksz

macrumors 68000
Oct 28, 2003
USA
This is some really good stuff!

I've never seen that structure before...what is it and where is it?

Your photos show a good understanding of exposure, including daylight face photos that are well exposed. The dusk and night photos are also good, but there a little blurriness in both. The third from the end is nicely framed. The dolphin photo would have been more pleasing from a little farther to the right, but other than that, good stuff!

P.S. I would try varying the contrast in the first two. Was a polarizing filter used?

Joeytpg

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 1, 2004
Vienna, Austria
This is some really good stuff!