Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

isianto

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 12, 2007
Indonesia
Hi guys, I'm a newbie, and the last photo I got an advice from Acsom (great advice), and I tried to post a new photos. Please critique me as honest as possible, so I can advance. Appreciate it.

On the first photo, I photographed my daughter (third kid from the right, she's just finished crying). It was her school show.

And on the second photo, again my daughter seeing her teacher bringing santa clause (I missed that scene with such interest, I kind of miss the the right side of the scene, I'm still learning about the composition).

Attachments

• DSC_5596.jpg
    DSC_5596.jpg
    954 KB · Views: 98
  • DSC_5630.jpg
    DSC_5630.jpg
    658.4 KB · Views: 82

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
It's good that you got down a bit to be closer to the level of the children, but you probably could have been even lower. More importantly, these photos do not have a strong focal point or subject separation, especially in the first one. There are a lot of lines, gestures, and people to draw the eye away from the subject and out of the frame. Group shots are very difficult to get right, since you have so many elements to organize. You either have to direct the people in the frame or else get very lucky. Another way to go would be to use very shallow depth of field to isolate your daughter from the rest of the children.

leandroc76

macrumors regular
Oct 27, 2003
Hi guys, I'm a newbie, and the last photo I got an advice from Acsom (great advice), and I tried to post a new photos. Please critique me as honest as possible, so I can advance. Appreciate it.

On the first photo, I photographed my daughter (third kid from the right, she's just finished crying). It was her school show.