Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

viral_mutant

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 24, 2024
I am new to Mac OS world, so please ignore my naivety.

I am having trouble trying to understand QuickLook thumbnail/preview behavior on SMB mounted paths. From the network trace, it seems to generate the thumbnails, the entire image/pdf file is being read(I checked Wireshark). For MP4 files, a lot of data is being read(not sure exactly how much).

But this behavior is troubling as it delays content listing and generates unnecessary traffic. I have a dedicated thumbnail server as well and I was hoping to implement my own QL generator that would be used for the files on SMB mount path. The generator can fetch the thumbnails from this server.

I am not sure if this is possible for well-known file types. Is this even doable ? Can I define my own UTI for all the files residing on SMB share and then use my custom generator for this ?

I saw that DropBox has its own QL generator as well. And from the info.plist it seems to try hooking into all the well-known file types as well. But qlmanage -m seems to be ignoring it and using the system provided generator only

f54da

macrumors 6502
Dec 22, 2021
Great question. I have not dabbled too much with qlgenerator but my understanding is that they're associated with a given uti type. UTI/file associations are a mess on mac, IIUC basically they're dynamically determined (by launch services framework?) based on attributes including file type, mime type, creator code, and which applications are registered for those.