Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

emorydunn

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 5, 2006
Austin Texas
Now before anyone pelts me with "this has been asked before" statements, I have searched and I know it has only been asked once (and the answers didn't help).

So, onto the story:
I'm a photography student and I'm looking to upgrade to a newer camera. Currently I've got a Canon 10D and I'm pretty happy with it. But, I am starting to notice that it isn't doing quite what I want specifically when it comes to low light situations.

For replacements I've been looking at either the 5D MII or the 7D (hasn't everyone?). Now, I've done my homework on both of these, reading reviews and spec sheets and even reading these forums. I've narrowed the dilemma down to sensor size, video capabilities, and price.

Both have video, but the 7D seems to be easier to use.
I've wanted to upgrade to a full-frame camera, but it is a lot more expensive. Which ties into price: the 7D is $100 less than the 5D.

So, as a result I'm really battling between full-frame and easier video (leaving price alone for a minute). So really what I'm asking is: Is the extra $1000 worth it to upgrade to a full-frame sensor?

And so for the video, I'm 90% photographer and 10% videographer and it's really more of a "that could be handy at times" but is enough of something I want that I think it's a necessary.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
There is really no substitute for sensor size. I doubt you will see much different in the printed photos if you change out one crop-body SLR for another. But going with a larger sensor means less noise and different depth of field characteristics.

I noticed this back with film, there was a huge difference between my 35mm camera and my Medium format camera.

If you do video buy a video camera even if it is a second hand Mini DV.

emorydunn

macrumors 6502