Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Johntomk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 28, 2009
I recently purchase a nikon D5000. I am looking to buy a few different lenses. I would like a wide angle lens and a better general purpose lens than the kit lens. I would also like a lens with a little more focal length. I have also been looking at a nikon 35 mm dx lens f/1.8 for around $200. I think this would be a good lens for nightshots. Any suggestions would help. I don't wanna cheap out on my lenses but I am also far from a professional so I don't need the best. Thanks

John

dazey

macrumors 6502
Dec 9, 2005
a 35mm on dx is not a wide angle, it is pretty close to 50mm equivalent which is standard. The 35mm will be good for night shots and I would recommend it, or the sigma equivalent. Getting a wideangle prime for a crop sensor is tricky. I used the 20mm f2.8 but it isn't even that wide on DX (but ultra wide now I have moved to full frame). It won't focus on the D5000. Sigma is probably the only choice for prime wideangles that will focus on your camera.
Depending on when you think you will ever go full frame be wary of DX lenses. I never bought a single DX lens but I like old lenses and I knew I would go full frame if it ever became an option

M-5

macrumors 65816
Jan 4, 2008
I just recently purchased a D5000 as well. I purchased it yesterday online, so it should arrive on Monday, but I can hardly bear the wait. I decided to purchase the D5000 Body-only with a 35mm 1.8 lens.

I had the most difficult time deciding between this camera and the Nikon D40, but I'm confident in my decision. I'm looking for a wide angle lens as well, but I'm not too familiar with lenses and would also appreciate suggestions.

Mr Ski 73

macrumors regular
Dec 11, 2007