Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MadtownCapsFan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 19, 2011
Hi -

Definite newbie here. I've read some of the sticky threads and FAQs about jailbreaking etc. but still stuck.

The problem is my ipod touch has become very slow and I'd like to explore deleting the daemon files etc. to try and speed things up. (There's just a very noticeable, and annoying, lag between when I click on the screen and how quickly it responds). I don't expect miracles, but I'm willing to try a few things.

My computer is a Power PC, iMac g5 running 10.4.11, and it seems many of the programs require later versions of mac os x. My ipod touch is running iOS 4.1

Anyway, I'm wondering what program(s) I need to accomplish this task. Do I need a jailbreaking program AND some kind of file manager program? If so, does anyone know which ones I need for my set-up described above?

Thanks for any help.

Tech Elementz

macrumors 6502
Jul 7, 2011
Hi -

Definite newbie here. I've read some of the sticky threads and FAQs about jailbreaking etc. but still stuck.

The problem is my ipod touch has become very slow and I'd like to explore deleting the daemon files etc. to try and speed things up. (There's just a very noticeable, and annoying, lag between when I click on the screen and how quickly it responds). I don't expect miracles, but I'm willing to try a few things.

My computer is a Power PC, iMac g5 running 10.4.11, and it seems many of the programs require later versions of mac os x. My ipod touch is running iOS 4.1

Anyway, I'm wondering what program(s) I need to accomplish this task. Do I need a jailbreaking program AND some kind of file manager program? If so, does anyone know which ones I need for my set-up described above?

Thanks for any help.