Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

B S Magnet

macrumors 601
Original poster
The title I’m starting here isn’t very helpful and is also kind of vague, so I’ll try to describe here what the title can’t, along with a bit of background.

Some background on why I’m posting:

For many years, I’ve maintained an archival library of music on which I’ve been curating since about 1989. I use the library as my own personal collection, but also as the source for when I do DJing sets. My iTunes 10.6.3 library for the collection also lives on here.

One thing I do with directories in this collection is to paste the image of title’s sleeve art into the parent directory in Finder, creating a custom icon in lieu of a generic folder. File/directory icons are handled by the ICNS resource in the resource fork.

For artists with multiple nested titles/items (e.g., Ryuichi Sakamoto, whose directory contains tens of his works, each work within being their own directories and whose icon is the sleeve art of that work), I came up with my own personal convention for marking a top-level directory.

This convention comes from a Photoshop template I created back in, like, 2014. I use it to plug in names, a big glyph based on the surname or filing name, and a unique hue I assign to all top-level directories sharing the same big glyph (e.g., “A”, “P”, “J”, etc.).

A good example: all artists/bands indexed by letter “S” — Sade, Shiina Ringo, Stacey Q, etc. — use black text and a magenta background. You can see this in the following example here with the directory for “AL STEWART” (which is for, obv., Al Stewart). :)

In Mojave 10.14.6:

10.14.6 icon view of BIBLIOTECA.png

The bug/issue

This issue, or bug only came to my notice very recently.

And I think I know why, but I don’t know mechanism what is causing it. But it is replicable.