Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RKNY1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 6, 2024
I have a 2013 MB Pro (8GH, 256 SSD) that's finally showing its age. I'm an editor/writer, and most of my work is done either in Microsoft Word, using the Track Changes feature, or in Google drive. Lately, my machine has been crashing on a regular basis when I work with large (book-length) Word docs with heavy edits in Track Changes. I try to mitigate by backing up frequently and saving/closing the documents often, but when I'm in Word for an extended period, the machine slows way down. My current laptop's battery is shot, as are its speakers, so I'm considering buying a M2 or M3 MB Air. Question: How do I buy and configure a laptop to avoid the current issues I'm having? I'm sure the newer machines are faster, but other than that, do I need to purchase something with 16 GB? I'm not a power user, aside from these work projects, I mostly use the laptop for email, Zoom, streaming. Thank you.

vcsjones

macrumors newbie
May 25, 2014
Personally I would recommend 16 GB of RAM as a baseline even if you are not a strong power user. If anything it will help you get through many more years of use, so consider it a bit of future-proofing your purchase as well (you cannot add more RAM later). Though doing heavy Word editing probably would result falling somewhere on the "power user" spectrum anyway, so 8 GB is probably too little.

It doesn't sound like you would benefit from a chip with more GPU cores, so using the baseline CPU configuration is probably fine.

You could bump the storage if you need to, the baseline is 256 GB. Since that is how much you have now, take a look at see how close you are to using it all up. You might benefit from 512 GB of storage if you want to avoid the troubles of constantly running out of drive storage later.

DaveEcc

macrumors member
Oct 17, 2022
Ottawa, ON, Canada