Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mrbrightside623

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 21, 2009
San Jose, CA
Hey all, I'm looking into getting into photography and been looking at a few DSL-Rs currently. The ones I been looking at is the Sony a380, Nikon D5000, and the Nikon D90. Since I'm just starting out, I'm fine with a 18-105mm lens. As for the Sony, I was told by the camera salesman that the Konica Minolta lenses that I already have will fit onto the a380. So I am in search for your opinions on what to pick. A Nikon with a 18-105mm lens or a Sony body and use the current lenses I already have? Which is better and why? Also for the Nikon, which is better and why.

Thanks in advance.

-Tony

a350

macrumors regular
Jul 8, 2009
The AF Minolta lenses will work on the Sony alphas.
I am not a fan of the 380, the 350 is better in my opinion, better yet get the 700, I have the 350 and 700. 350 is great when I want live view and 700 is great when I want to shot action or do HDR's.

What will follow this post, a slew of people telling you to get either Nikon or Canon.
Go and try all the cameras for yourself, pick the one that feels best to YOU.
If you already have a lot of Minolta lenses than that's a plus for Sony.

mrbrightside623

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 21, 2009
San Jose, CA
The AF Minolta lenses will work on the Sony alphas.
I am not a fan of the 380, the 350 is better in my opinion, better yet get the 700, I have the 350 and 700. 350 is great when I want live view and 700 is great when I want to shot action or do HDR's.

What will follow this post, a slew of people telling you to get either Nikon or Canon.
Go and try all the cameras for yourself, pick the one that feels best to YOU.
If you already have a lot of Minolta lenses than that's a plus for Sony.