Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ToborMP51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 2, 2024
Hello all, newbie here. Like the title says, I need a little help. I'll try to keep it short and simple:

Researched for days to find a gpu to upgrade from the default Radeon HD 5770 in my MP5,1
Settled on the Radeon Pro WX7100 because it seemed like the least hassle (no extra power mods, single slot) and it fit my current budget

However, after placing the order for it, I realized I still wasn't sure if I need to get a special cable to connect it or if I can use the current one hooked up to the 5770.
I tried searching around the forums and doing a general search but I couldn't find anything that specifically answered my question.

This is my first "major" upgrade, so I'm still rather new at this. I installed a USB card a while back but upgrading the gpu seems a tad more complicated.

I would appreciate any help I can get on this matter. Thank you!

ToborMP51

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 2, 2024
WX7100 have the same 1x6-pin power input as the HD 5770. Same cable.
oh really? that's fantastic! so, in basic terms, I will just need to remove the old card, put in the new one and I should be good to go? that's a relief.

thank you so much!

tsialex

Contributor
Jun 13, 2016
so, in basic terms, I will just need to remove the old card, put in the new one and I should be good to go?

Yes, electrically and physically. Don't forget that the WX7100 is basically a variant of RX 480, same macOS driver support (starts with 10.12.6) and no pre-boot configuration. If you need BootScreens/BootPicker, you can use EnableGop.

dataharvested

macrumors regular
Aug 13, 2022
I'm running a Radeon Pro WX7100 in both my workstation and home server purposed CMP. I also am using EnableGop and the cards work perfectly. I have the boot picker and boot progress screens. It's a great setup.

ToborMP51

macrumors newbie