Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

slick316

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 28, 2005
I was just wondering how much post processing you guys normally do to your pics.

I am just learning how to take pics and then I realize that I suck at processing them (I tend to overdue it and the pic looks all messed up and grainy and I lose detail, etc.)

I took some pics yesterday and all I did was slightly adjust exposure and/or saturation, take a look and critique please.

http://web.mac.com/mitul316/Site/Photos_2.html

Please, any help would be appreciated :)

SLC Flyfishing

Suspended
Nov 19, 2007
Portland, OR
Those don't look half bad, maybe a white balance issue on a few of them but still not bad. Do you shoot RAW? That's where I'd start, RAW files hold up infinitely better to editing than jpeg's do. Also, depending on what I'm going for, I'll normally just adjust for saturation, and then sharpen.

SLC

AlaskaMoose

macrumors 68040
Apr 26, 2008
Alaska
I was just wondering how much post processing you guys normally do to your pics.

I am just learning how to take pics and then I realize that I suck at processing them (I tend to overdue it and the pic looks all messed up and grainy and I lose detail, etc.)

I took some pics yesterday and all I did was slightly adjust exposure and/or saturation, take a look and critique please.

http://web.mac.com/mitul316/Site/Photos_2.html

Please, any help would be appreciated :)

I just use PSE6 to PP the original RAW images, which by the way, are left intact by PSE 6. It means that with PSE I can "develop" a copy from the original, which in turn is saved in TIFF format. It's very simple to do, but you will have to give it a try to understand. PSE6 has the following options which can be selected in the pre-opening process:

-WB control
-Temperature
-Exposure
-Fill Light
-Blacks
-Recovery
-Brightness
-Contrast
-Clarity
-Vibrance
-Saturation