Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KettyKrueger

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 17, 2007
UK
Hi All

I'm a novice when it comes to photography, I do try though!!

I've got a bunch of photos of my daughter from Xmas Day that all suffer from the same problem, due to the time of day (6am) the only source of light came from a low-light ceiling lamp and a flash (if I remember right).

The photos are dark and grainy and generally look terrible. I noticed that iPhoto '09 has a nice Denoise setting which I will be test-driving as soon as it's available but are there any other methods to denoising?

Please be gently with technical terms!

Thanks.

phrehdd

macrumors 601
Oct 25, 2008
I am sorry to hear those photos came out dark and "grainy."

There are several softwares out there that will do better for your needs than what you will get in iPhoto 9.

The first thing that comes to mind is that if you want to "hobby" with your camera you might consider getting Aperture software. It is exclusive to Macs and a nice easy but powerful software for everyone. Aperture has also the ability to add "plug ins" which are additional tools to help you improve your images. What first comes to mind is Noise Ninja as a plug in. It rates very well and usually sits within the top 5 noise handling softwares by Pro and Novice ratings.

I believe you wont get a perfect copy from what you describe but perhaps can save some at a level that is acceptable.

The alternative is to get software such as Photoshop which would probably be overkill in cost and learning curve. Lightroom is Adobes counterpart to Aperture and have versions for both Mac and Windows. In terms of being "Mac Like"...Aperture is a better bet.

You can probably download Aperture for a trial and not sure about if Noise Ninja has a trial. - Something to investigate <grin>.