Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

IcedT1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 6, 2016
I am a student who owns the iPad Pro 10.5 64GB gold and I have been very happy with it so far. One day I downloaded an app to test my iPad disk speed and noticed the write speed is half the one on my iPhone 8 plus 64GB. I saw a similar thread for iPhone 8/plus/X somewhere on this website and decided do it for the iPad. This is the app I used:
PerformanceTest Mobile
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/performancetest-mobile/id494438360
Please Kindly reply with your read/write speed as I will update the average speed on this thread regularly.

iPad Pro 10.5 write/read (MB/s)
64GB:
72.3/1214

256GB:
320/1221
512GB:

iPad Pro 12.0 Gen 2 write/read (MB/s)
64GB:
203/1149
256GB:

512GB:
390/1025

Last edited:

sparksd

macrumors G3
Jun 7, 2015
Seattle WA
10.5 LTE 256GB --

Write 320 MB/s
Read 1221 MB/s

Jumped around some over multiple tests, above are eyeballed averages. Are you numbers for read/write for 64GB transposed? They must be write/read, not read/write.

IcedT1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 6, 2016
10.5 LTE 256GB --

Write 320 MB/s
Read 1221 MB/s

Jumped around some over multiple tests, above are eyeballed averages. Are you numbers for read/write for 64GB transposed? They must be write/read, not read/write.
Very interesting yet not surprising result. I noticed that comparing your result to iPhone 8/plus/X your write speed is about 100-200MB/s lower and my iPad is 100MB/s lower than the same capacity iPhone. it is pretty disappointing knowing Apple didn't use the same SSD on the iPads which was released the same year.
Yeah thanks it was transposed. I have reversed them now.

Eric5273

macrumors 6502a
Apr 12, 2009
New Jersey
iPhone 8 has the A11 processor while the iPad Pro 10.5 has the A10X, so it is no surprise that the iPhone 8 would be faster at reading/writing to the storage.

rui no onna