Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jumpcutking

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 6, 2020
Should I upgrade?

Yes, it’s one of those posts.

So I have a 3rd generation (one camera at the back) iPad Pro 256g ( 220g is always free). I use it mainly for notes and sometimes for sideloading messages during meetings - quickly send a message while taking notes.

I do A LOT of note-taking. This has replaced almost all my paper note-taking. And that’s all I currently use it for.

However, I have an opportunity to upgrade to the latest iPad. 3 cameras - I use the one when taking photos of whiteboards and things to go in the note, and I do measurements (on my iPhone) for building upgrade projects. I am a film professional so upgrading to the new display sounds like a great idea. Of course, the M1 speaks to me…

However, is it a good idea?

The end cost to me would be around $450-$500, which isn’t bad… but I’m not sure it’s wise.

I love my iPad and it works for what I use it for… is it a good idea to upgrade? Thoughts?

gordonmcalpin

macrumors newbie
Feb 2, 2022
Somerville, MA
Wait for the next one, if it's OLED. I like the extra RAM (more layers in Procreate) and Thunderbolt is a worthwhile the upgrade--but it was disappointing to learn that you can't use the iPad like a Thunderbolt monitor with a Mac (it connects at 10 Gbps speeds, not 40 Gbps, making it too laggy for drawing) and the miniLED blooming is a distraction when watching very dark scenes in movies.

jumpcutking

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 6, 2020
I have the same iPad and I use it to take notes and read books. I won't pay 450$ for M1 and a marginally better screen.
It would be a color calibrated HDR display… the equivalent displays are quite expensive. Well maybe it’s mot really color calibrated but it is HDR capable.

Isengardtom

macrumors 65816
Feb 14, 2009
For now I would say no.