Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Amirhazwan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 21, 2017
Hi guys.

Just want to ask. I've been using Iphone 5 since 2014 and i'm planning to upgrade. Iphone 7 is not in my list as my budget is little tight. Is it still okay to buy Iphone 6 now? Will it receive updates for at least another two years? Or should i go for 6S?

Thanks for your opinion.

Cancelled
Jul 12, 2016
Hi guys.

Just want to ask. I've been using Iphone 5 since 2014 and i'm planning to upgrade. Iphone 7 is not in my list as my budget is little tight. Is it still okay to buy Iphone 6 now? Will it receive updates for at least another two years? Or should i go for 6S?

Thanks for your opinion.

I would not purchase the iPhone 6. It's likely to receive less iOS support in the future and the iPhone 6S supersedes the iPhone 6 in every way with the additional RAM, processor and overall is a much better iPhone experience than the 6.

joeblow7777

macrumors 604
Sep 7, 2010
I'm still using a 6, and I have no complaints about its performance. I suspect that it will receive updates for a couple more years. That being said, if you plan to keep it for a years, I would suggest buying the most current phone that you can reasonably afford. It depends how much more the 6s will cost you and what your budget is. I would save up and go for the 6s. Even as someone currently using a 6, who still appreciates it as a good phone, I realize that the 6s will be good for at least a year longer than the 6.

HappyMBAowner

macrumors regular
Feb 23, 2015
Quebec
Hi guys.

Thanks for your opinion.
I'm still using a 5. Still working great. Keep your money and wait.

Arcontia

macrumors 6502a
Apr 6, 2017
I wouldn't. Apple seems to have made it clear since iOS10 came out, that 3D Touch will soon become more and more prominent in its use...and may even become the backbone of some interactions.