Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

alexjholland

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
I work in tech and product management.

I struggle to remember a worse product feature than homescreen app arrangement on iOS and iPadOS 18.

Like many nerds, I organise each window on my iPhone and iPad with widgets and apps to suit each workflow. And I was excited that - finally - we can move apps anywhere.

But Apple seem determined to punish us for this feature.

Whenever I drag an app around the chaos that ensues is beyond comprehension.

Apps and widgets leap around in an unhinged and macabre carnival of destruction.

There is no rhyme or reason to these movements.

They're worse than random: the homescreen never, ever guesses what I want to do.

And each time I download a new app it will blow away my previous organisation.

This isn't just bad design.

It's an anti-feature.

Nodnerb

macrumors newbie
Dec 5, 2023
Yeah it's absolutely awful! I'm just leaving things as they were before the update because it is such a worthless mess to try do anything with. In fact I hated moving anything around the homescreen before 18 too because it was awful, but now it is a comical nightmare. This update the only thing that actually exists that works that I want is the dark icons. Thrilling.

Last edited:
Reactions: alexjholland

chibihabibi

macrumors newbie
Oct 26, 2021
Yes especially the control center. It is so erratic it could just about give someone a meltdown with how ridiculously stubborn it is.

TonyC28

macrumors 68030
Aug 15, 2009
USA
I don’t want to believe that they did this on purpose. So, I’ll ask, how is it possible they made it this bad? With all the beta testing that happens, could this possibly have been missed?

Reactions: Act3

dottdirtt

macrumors newbie
Oct 9, 2018