Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BJB Productions

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Nov 10, 2008
Hi everyone,
First off, I'm a novice, so go easy on me! :)

I have a Nikon D90 and really want to get into taking long exposure pictures. First off, Here's the lenses I have:

AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm1:3.5-1.6 G
AF-S Nikkor 70-330mm 1:4.5-5.6 G

So...from what I've read, there is no possible way to get long exposures in sun light with these lenses. Am I right? I've tried putting the ISO as low as possible, and of course, the aperture closed as much as possible, but no good.

So..If i'm right with the above reasoning, what lens could you suggest for outdoor long exposures, in a fair amount of sunlight?--I'm a student, so I'm not exactly able to buy the best on the market. I just need something that will get the job done. :)

Thanks

gr8tfly

macrumors 603
Oct 29, 2006
~119W 34N
Neutral density filters should do the trick. They're available in various densities (1 stop, 2 stops, etc.).

BJB Productions

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Nov 10, 2008
Is there a density you would suggest for my scenario?..It's possible I would be shooting some landscapes and waterfalls.

jampat

macrumors 6502a
Mar 17, 2008
How long a shutter speed do you want? For water, many people seem to like something around 20 seconds. If you are assuming sunny day ISO 100 at f/16 you would be at 1/100 without an ND filter. If you are aiming for around 20 seconds, you would need an 8 stop filter. Those aren't as easy to find anymore, 4's are more common. You can also stack filters if required (may vignette on wide lenses).

Keep in mind that you will have trouble seeing through an 8 stop ND filter, you will have to focus (and maybe even meter?) and then install the filter and adjust the metering by 8 stops.