Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mattyb240

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 11, 2008
Hi,

I realised I might get a flaming for such a common question! I am a newbie to photography and like to shoot the events I design (Stage Lighting). I have found my kit lens to be insufficient in low light to get a fast enough shutter speed without ramping up the iso massively (Canon 1000D iso 1600). I have considered the 'nifty fifty' both the 1.8 and 1.4.

I have tried shooting at this focal length and find it limiting at times (when I have no chance to move around without being obtrusive to the audiences view or distracting the performers). Ideally a telephoto lens in and around the standard kit lens (18-55) but I would like the IS function also. What aperture should I be looking at? 2.8? 1.8? Is 1.8 achievable in a zoom?

My budget will be around £300-500(Maximum). I might be asking alot for to little but I thought it would be worth a shot!

Thanks in advance!

mattyb240

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 11, 2008
Would any of the Tamron 17-50 2.8 or Tokina 16-50 f/2.8 be any good? I am reading reviews as we speak and searching like a mad man! And I have read about constant apertures of 2.8? Does this just mean you can use 2.8 at any given focal length for a shallower DOF and better low light?

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
With your budget you are looking at primes, not zooms. If the 50mm f/1.4 is to wide for you get the 85mm f/1.8

Pro quality zoom lenses are typically f/2.8 and also a bit over your budget. Yu will do better and save money with a 50mm or 85mm prime.

Would any of the Tamron 17-50 2.8 or Tokina 16-50 f/2.8 be any good? I am reading reviews as we speak and searching like a mad man! And I have read about constant apertures of 2.8? Does this just mean you can use 2.8 at any given focal length for a shallower DOF and better low light?